Polska / mazowieckie
|Synagogues, prayer houses and others||Cemeteries||Places of martyrology||Judaica in museums||Andere|
|Province:||mazowieckie / kieleckie (before 1939)|
|County:||przysuski / opoczyński (before 1939)|
|Community:||Przysucha / (before 1939)|
|Other names:||Pshischa פרשיסחא [jidysz]|
Пшисуха [j. rosyjski]
Przysucha is the capital of Przysucha County, in Masovian Voivodeship, with 6.200 inhabitants ( as of 2006).
It is located at the foot of Opaczyński Hills, at the borderline of Radom Plain and Gielniowski Prominence.
After over half a century from establishing the Jewish quarter, as many as 105 Jewish families lived in Przysucha, so it was necessary to build a synagogue. It was erected in 1777 and was considered “great” by visitors. It is an extensive brick building designed on a plan of a rectangle of 20 x 30 meters in the Classicistic style. In the interior design, a “nine-field” solution was applied, which is typical of Polish synagogues, where the central part of the ceiling is supported by four columns linked by arcades, which also delimit the place for the bimah.
Przysucha became a well-known in Jewish circles when the famous tzaddik Jacob Isaac ben Asher (called The Holy Jew by his contemporaries) settled in the town. At the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries, the city was a center to the Chasidic movement.
The tzaddik's famous home drew the faithful from the area around Kielce and from all over Mazovia as well. So great was his popularity that many decided to settle close by, thus greatly contributing to the growth of the city's Jewish population. In 1939 Jews accounted for some 65% of the population.
During the German occupation of Poland, the Jewish residents of Przysuchy were exterminated. The city's ghetto was created in 1942 and eventually held 5000 souls, who in the fall of that year were sent to their deaths at Treblinka.
First word of Przysucha dates from the beginning of the 15th century. The city did not, however, receive its municipal charter until August II the Strong granted it in 1710. This royal privilege was intended to make Przysucha a town of German craftsmen. Thirteen years later, in 1723, permission was given for the first Jews to settle, and in 1745 a third, Polish district was created in the city.
Each of the city's three ethnic groups created its own distinct neighborhoods, each with a square, streets and public buildings. Thanks to this unique development, Przysucha is a unique "tri-city" possessing three city centers.
With your financial contribution towards the development of a town description, a photo documentation or other activities, you will be awarded a donation certificate.